Plan
The plan operation shows the changes that an apply operation would perform, without changing anything
on GitHub.
When the plan operation is executed, the following happens:
- the local configuration is validated, planning is aborted if validation errors are found
- the current live configuration is retrieved
- the differences between the local and the live configuration are displayed
Resources that exist on GitHub but are missing in the local configuration are displayed as deletions. Whether they are actually deleted depends on how the changes are applied, see Apply.
Options¶
--stats print the GitHub API usage statistics to stderr at the end [env var: OTTERDOG_STATS]
--stats-file FILE write the GitHub API usage statistics as JSON to the given file [env var:
OTTERDOG_STATS_FILE]
--local work in local mode, not updating the referenced default config
-c, --config FILE configuration file to use. Default: otterdog.jsonnet, otterdog.json
-v, --verbose enable verbose output (-vvv for more verbose output)
-n, --no-web-ui / --web-ui skip settings retrieved via web ui, defaults to the
'no_web_ui' setting of the otterdog configuration
-r, --repo-filter TEXT a valid shell pattern to match repository names to be included [default: *]
--update-webhooks updates webhook with secrets regardless of changes
--update-secrets updates secrets regardless of changes
--only-secrets only updates secrets
--update-filter TEXT a valid shell pattern to match webhook urls / secret names to be included for update
[default: *]
-h, --help Show this message and exit.
Example¶
$ otterdog plan my-org --repo-filter my-repo
Planning execution:
Actions are indicated with the following symbols:
+ create
~ modify
! forced update
- delete
Organization my-org[id=my-org]
~ repository[name="my-repo"] {
~ has_wiki = true -> false
~ }
+ add repo_ruleset[name="default-branch", repository="my-repo"] {
+ allows_creations = false
+ allows_deletions = false
...
+ }
Plan: 1 to add, 1 to change, 0 to delete.